International Workshop on Solar, Heliospheric & Magnetospheric Radioastronomy:

The Legacy of Jean-Louis Steinberg (1922 – 2016)

Paris Observatory, Meudon – 6-10 November 2017

https://jlsworkshop.sciencesconf.org/

Preliminary Announcement

Jean-Louis Steinbeg has been one of the major pioneers in radioastronomy. Co-founder of the Nançay Observatory, he has actively participated to, an inspired a large number of radio instruments on many international space missions. Jean-Louis Steinberg is the founder of the Space Radioastronomy laboratory of the Paris Observatory in 1963. Later on, this laboratory widened its science interests and became the DESPA (1971) and then the current LESIA (2002) which is one of the major space sciences laboratories in France. The aim of this workshop is to cover the science topics which Jean-Louis Steinberg has promoted during his career, focusing on Solar, Heliospheric & Magnetospheric radioastronomy & physics. This will be done by covering both observations from either ground facilities (NDA, RH, LOFAR, Artemis etc ...) or space missions (ISSEE, Ulysses, WIND, CLUSTER, STEREO, CASSINI, JUNO etc ...) and models/theories. A series of invited talks is also foreseen to cover the new developments in the discipline which may come with the future facilities such as Solar Orbiter, Solar Probe Plus, JUICE, JUNO, LOFAR+, SKA etc

Session 1: Solar Radio emissions, energetic particles and UV/X/g emissions, CMEs

/topics: generation of solar radio emissions, observations from ground & space, Flare physics/

Session 2: The interplanetary medium

/topics: radio scattering, Thermal noise and radio measurement techniques (direction finding, radio receivers ...), solar wind physics/

Sessions 3: Terrestrial & Planetary radio emissions

/topics: generation of radio emissions, observations from ground & space/

Sessions 4: Future projects

/topics: Future space & ground based missions & projects /

Contact:

Milan Maksimovic (<u>milan.maksimovic@obspm.fr</u>), LOC: Karine Issautier, Olga Alexandrova, Philippe Zarka, Michel Moncuquet, Filippo Pantellini,, Baptiste Cecconi, Pierre Drossart, Sylvain Cnudde, Claudine Colon

SOC members:

Iver Cairns (Australia), Nicole Cornilleau (France), Karine Issautier (France), Paul Kellogg(USA), Alexander Konovalenko (Ukraine), Eduard Kontar(UK), Volodya Krasnosselskikh (France), Bob Macdowall (USA), Milan Maksimovic (chair, France), Helmut Rucker(Austria)

End.

This announcement was received by G. Maeda from C. Monstein on 27 March 2017 for distribution on the ISWI Newsletter. If you wish to have announcements distributed, please send to the ISWI Newsletter Editor, who is G. Maeda.