

CENTRE FOR MATHEMATICAL AND STATISTICAL SCIENCES (CMSS)

Peechi Campus, KFRI, Peechi-680653, Kerala, India

Phone; 91+9400606317(09400606317) Fax 91+4822-216 317(04822-216317)

E-mail: cmspala@gmail.com; Website: www.cmsintl.org

Chairman Director

Dr. A. Sukumaran Nair, M.A; M.Sc; Ph.D F.N.A.Sc; F.I.M.S.

RECENT HONORS AND PRIZES WON BY CMSS SCHOLARS AND FACULTY

CMSS is pleased to announce the following recent honors received and prizes won by the faculty and research scholars of CMSS

1.BEST PAPER PRESENTATION AWARD



Miss T. Princy, a DST-Senior Research Fellow and a Jawaharlal Fellow at CMSS won the best paper presentation award and the Qureshi prize of the Society for Special Functions and Their Applications at its international conference held in Patiala, Punjab, India, on 16-18 October 2014. Among the many contestants, she was one of the four short-listed and she won the prize. CMSS congratulates her for this award and wishes her many more such prizes in the future. She is registered for Ph.D at BHU and her thesis is supervised by Professor Mathai from

CMSS and Professor S.K. Singh from BHU. This is the 17th award won by CMSS scholars during the past 7 years.

2. BEST Ph.D THESIS OF 2014 AWARD FROM ISPS



Ms P. Prajitha, a DST-Senior Research Fellow and an INSPIRE Fellow at CMSS won the best Ph.D thesis of 2014 award from the Indian Society for Probability and Statistics (ISPS). ISPS is the only national level society for statisticians and probabilists in India at present. Prajitha's thesis was supervised by Professor Mathai from CMSS and Professor K.K. Singh from Banaras Hindu University (BHU). Her thesis is in the general area of reliability theory and non-parametric tests. Prajitha will get Ph.D from BHU and her thesis defense is scheduled for 18th December 2014. Her Ph.D will be

effective from 30 May 2014, the day of submission of the Ph.D thesis, as per BHU rules. [Earlier, Prajitha had won the second prize of the **best paper presentation award** at IIT Kharagpur, India, in the prestigious *National Meet of Research Scholars*, mainly an IITs and Central Universities affair.] The award of a certificate, memento and Rs 30,000.00 cash were presented to her at the ISPS annual conference in Tirupati, India on 30 November to 2 December 2014. She shared the award with another submission from another university, each receiving the same amount of cash award. This best thesis of the year award was instituted by Dr Jagan K. Wani of the University of Calgary, Canada. This is the first time that this award is given since its establishment. Incidentally, Dr Jagan K. Wani is Professor Mathai's first Ph.D student at McGill University, Canada. CMSS congratulates Prajitha and wishes her a bright academic career. This is the **18th award** won by CMSS scholars during the past 7 years.

3. YOUNG STATISTICIAN AWARD OF ISPS



Mr Naiju M. Thomas, a DST-Senior Research Fellow at CMSS won the Young Statistician Award of 2014 from ISPS at its annual conference held at Tirupati, India, on 30 November to 2 December 2014. Among the many contestants for the award, Naiju was in the final short list of three and he won the prize. He has submitted his Ph.D thesis at BHU and waiting for the date of defense of his thesis. His Ph.D will be effective from 29 May 2014, the day of submission of his thesis, as per BHU rules. Naiju's thesis was supervised by Professor Mathai from

CMSS and Professor Umesh Singh from BHU. His thesis is in the general area of statistical distribution theory and applications of pathway model. CMSS congratulates Naiju for this meritorious national award and wishes him a bright academic career. This is the 19th award won by CMSS scholars. This is the 19th award won by CMSS scholars during the past 7 years.

4. PRESIDENT OF THE INDIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY



Professor A.M. Mathai, Director (honorary) of CMSS and Emeritus Professor of Mathematics and Statistics, McGill University, Canada, is nominated as a candidate for President of the Indian Mathematical Society (IMS). Since nobody else wanted to contest the nomination, Dr Mathai will be confirmed as the President at the annual meeting of IMS to be held on 27-30 December 2014. IMS is the oldest mathematical society in India. IMS publishes the *Journal of the Indian Mathematical Society* and *Mathematics Student*. Professor Mathai has a wide range of interest and significant research contributions in Mathematical Sciences, Statistical Sciences, Physical Sciences, Biological Sciences, Social

Sciences and Engineering Sciences. On the mathematical side, he has significant contributions in Applied Analysis, Special Functions, Fractional Calculus, Information Theory, Applications of Special Functions in Astrophysics and Statistics etc, and minor contributions in Differential Equations (integer order, 2 papers only), Graph Theory (2 to 3 papers only), mathematical models in Biology (3 papers only). He is the author/principal co-author of 29 books, a good number of them by leading international publishers, and he has edited another 33 books and published over 300 research papers, a large number of them in top international refereed journals. Since 1985 he is the Honorary Director of CMS (now CMSS), from 1985 to 2005 nearly six months in India and six months in Canada every year and from 2006 onward nearly 10 months in India and two months abroad every year. He is also the founder of the Statistical Science Association of Canada (now Statistical Society of Canada) and the founder of the Canadian Journal of Statistics. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (USA), the National Academy of Sciences, India, and Elected Member of the International Statistical Institute (Netherland). Professor Mathai was honored by the Office of the Outer Space Affairs of the United Nations thrice, once in Tokyo, Japan, once in Daejon, Korea and once in Quito, Ecuador. He had given several invited talks and three keynote addresses also in UN Workshops. Google's scholar citation pages give some details regarding publications and standings in a number of areas.

CMSS congratulates Professor Mathai for this honor and wishes him a fruitful tenure as the President of IMS.