Scientific Committee On Solar-TErrestrial Physics

The Scientific Committee On Solar-TErrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP) was originally established as an Inter-Union Commission following a Resolution adopted at the 11th General Assembly of ICSU in Bombay in January 1966. It was modified by the 14th General Assembly of ICSU in Helsinki in 1972 to a Special Committee, and by the 17th General Assembly in 1978 to a Scientific Committee.

Its principal tasks are: to promote international interdisciplinary programmes in solar-terrestrial physics, and to organize and coordinate such programmes of interest to, and approved by, at least two of the following bodies: IAU, IUGG, IUPAP, URSI, and COSPAR (each specific programme is normally of finite duration); to define the data relating to these programmes that should be exchanged through the World Data Centres; to provide such advice as may be required by the ICSU bodies and World Data Centres concerned with these programmes; and to work with other ICSU bodies in the coordination of symposia in solar-terrestrial physics, especially on topics related to SCOSTEP’s programmes.

President/Chairman: Dr. Nat Gopalswamy
Secretary General: Dr. Marianna Shepherd
SCOSTEP website

Completed international interdisciplinary programs in solar solar-terrestrial physics

• 1976-1979 IMS: International Magnetospheric Study
• 1979-1981 SMY: Solar Maximum Year
• 1982-1985 MAP: Middle Atmosphere Program
• 1990-1997 STEP: Solar-Terrestrial Energy Program
• 1998-2002 SRAMP: STEP-Results, Applications and Modeling Phase
• 1998-2002 PSMOS: Planetary Scale Mesopause Observing System
• 1998-2002 EPIC: Equatorial Processes Including Coupling
• 1998-2002 ISCS: International Solar Cycle Study
• 2004-2008 CAWSES: Climate and Weather of the Sun-Earth System
• 2009-2013 CAWSES-II: Climate and Weather of the Sun-Earth System-II

The VarSITI program is the next scientific program of SCOSTEP (2014-2018)